With his powerful and emotional call-to-resistance ‘I’m Not Defeated’ blazing a trail earlier this year, along with its anthemic rework by Chicago house queen Honey Dijon that was a staple of Pride season and Ibiza parties alike, Fiorious latest single ‘Future Romance’ out today, comes with remixes from Deetron and Mighty Mouse. 

The Deetron Acid Dub was premiered on Mixmag earlier this week – SOUNDCLOUD

Further evidence of Fiorious’s dancefloor-friendly but spirited songwriting, ‘Future Romance’ is “part of a visual story arc, one of four songs to encapsulate the key themes of my upcoming album, Revisionary.”

Future Romance‘ “celebrates sexual freedom in the context of the queer community” a message realised in the stunning video shot in Milan, in collaboration with production team Eurocrash (Protopapa and Sockslove) and directed by London-based Samuel Douek. This bold, exquisitely shot clip features members of the diverse and inclusive community Fiorious is so proud to be a part of.  

Highlighting the experiences of this community is sacrosanct to Fiorious. “I wanted to depict a surreal queer club night, recalling some of the most amazing and debaucherous parties I’ve been to in Berlin or Brooklyn. No shame, no judgment, and no fantasy off-limits, but also reflecting the light and dark and blurred euphoria of it all. These safe spaces are still so important for LGBTQIA+ folks, and also within the history of dance music as a place to hear the most vital and adventurous house and techno, so it’s crucial that these parties continue to thrive.” 

Kicking off both digital and vinyl versions of the single is Deetron’s mix. The Swiss techno DJ and producer ups the ante using atmospheric strings and swirling synths to provide a sublimely blissful classic house reboot. Also on remix duties, disco innovator Mighty Mouse delivers a gloriously funk-laden mix destined to set dancefloors alight — along with the soulful, electrifying original, an essential acid dub from Deetron, and accapella completing the vinyl track listing.
Fiorious‘ debut for Glitterbox Recordings ‘I’m Not Defeated’ won numerous plaudits including the Big Tunes slot in Mixmag and a feature in Attitude magazine hailing Fiorious as a “trailblazing, boundary-pushing… new queer voice,” as well as getting BBC radio love from Annie Mac and Pete Tong, and superstar support from the likes of Mark Ronson, Calvin Harris, Jax Jones, Duke Dumont, and David Guetta.  His defiant house music perfectly represents the sound and attitude of Defected sister label Glitterbox Recordings.  Each track and video revisits the aftershocks of heartbreak: from being haunted by lovers past and exploring the limits of sexual freedom, to navigating hostile political realities and attempting to rewrite personal narratives.

Fiorious joins a line up including Horse Meat Disco, Yusek, and Melvo Baptiste at Glitterbox at Ministry Of Sound on December 14th.  Future Romance formats:

1) Deetron Remix
2) Mighty Mouse Remix
3) Original

1) Deetron Remix
2) Deetron Acid Dub
3) Mighty Mouse Remix
4) Original
5) Accapella


More Stories
Idris Elba, Afrojack and Tchami
Musician Idris Elba unveils energising ‘Body Shots’ video